Powerman Philippines 2017 Asian Championships Dominated by Australia and the Philippines

Australia dominated the recently concluded Powerman Philippines Asian Championships when Thomas Bruins and Matt Smith took the top two spots of the Classic distance.  The Philippines’ Miscelle Gilbuena took the crown on the women’s division for the same category.  Here are some more of the highlights:

The gun start of the Powerman Philippines 2017 (Classic distance).

Cloudy skies greeted the participants of this year’s Powerman Philippines Asian Championships which was held in Clark, Pampanga last October 08, 2017.  The event started at the Parade Grounds and saw participants coming in from all over the world as it also serves as a qualifying event for the next Powerman World Championships.

The event started with the Classic (10K run, 60K bike, and 10K run) which was participated in by the top elites from the Powerman world ranking.  It was later followed by the Short (5K run, 30K bike, 5K run) where the bulk of participants were in.

“It’s all about investing in the Filipino duathlete’s potential, pushing their boundaries, and expanding their competitive horizons with the ultimate goal of sending our top Filipino duathlete to the Powerman World Championships.” —Coach Kaye Lopez, General Manager, Powerman Philippines.

In the end, Thomas Bruins and Matt Smith took the top two spots for Australia in the Classic distance, coming in at 2:57:28 and 3:07:46, respectively.  Completing the top five for the male elites are Emmanuel Commendador, John Leerams Chicano, and Raymund Torio, all from the Philippines.

Miscelle Gilbuena turned the tides for the Philippines when she took the crown for the female elites of the Classic distance, finishing at 3:39:34.  Alexandra Mcdougall of Australia finished next at 3:40:44, and Rowena Valdez of the Philippines completed the top three.

Over at the Short distance, it was Jarwyn Banatao of the Philippines that took the title, clocking in at 1:24:01.  Jason Loh of Malaysia came in second at 1:25:56, and John Topia of the Philippines was third at 1:27:04.

Airi Sawada of Japan took the female elite title for the Short distance, clocking in at 1:35:19 and Bic Ferreria of the Philippines was the runner-up at 2:10:19.

Local celebrities were also spotted participating in the event which includes Aubrey Miles, Troy Montero, and Coach Al Gonzales in the Classic distance (relay, placing 3rd place), Sitti Navarro and Joey Ramirez in the Short distance (relay), and Kim Chiu, Jake Cuenca, and Gerald Anderson (individual).

* * *

For more information about this event, visit powerman.ph.  You may also follow @powermanph on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, and the official hashtags #NoManNoPower, #PowermanPH, and #PowermanPHPresentedBySummit.

🎙 Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s